Easy peasy

We were told by pretty much everyone that adjusting from one kid to two kids is harder than adjusting from zero to one. Yes, you might know a little more the second time around what you’re doing in general, but meeting both kids’ needs and doing everything that needs to be done in a timely manner makes it much more difficult to adjust to. I can see that for sure. And I was certainly preparing for that to be the case.

Now, with the caveat that we’re still just 10 months into the whole second-kid thing, I have a secret, though I’m afraid to write it out for fear that I’ll somehow jinx the whole thing.

I think adjusting to two kids has been much easier than what people tried to warn me. And certainly easier than adjusting from no kids to one kid. Shhhh! Don’t tell anyone I said this.

(Here’s my other secret: I don’t remember if I’ve already written about this. I probably have. In which case: Just ignore me. My brain has been quite fuzzy this week.)

Now, that’s not to say that it’s always easy, of course. It’s a very delicate balancing act with seven plates in the air at any given time, it’s more financially straining, and the free time is currently very low. But I find that as long as The Husband and I work together as a team to tackle each day, then we generally come out of it in pretty good shape.

I’m not sure what has been our saving grace (aside from teamwork, which I certainly don’t take for granted). I think the girls’ age difference has quite a bit to do with it. The Big Sis is quite independent and doesn’t need as much immediate, hands-on care as, say, an 18-month-old would. Also The Little Sis’ easy-going nature certainly doesn’t hurt things. And, I’ll tell you, having an Ergo available this time around has been a lifesaver in so many situations where being without it would have been much more difficult.

I don’t really know the whys of it, but I just know that I’m very thankful this is the case. There are times our house hasn’t been vacuumed as recently as it should have been. There are times I’m too tired and don’t feel like posting pictures for family or making a blog post. But in the grand scheme of things, I think we’ve all adjusted well to the change in our family, and I’m hopeful that will continue as The Little Sis gets older. And if I’m wrong…well, at least we had a good run. 🙂

One Response to Easy peasy

  1. alliek says:

    hm, i had never gotten that warning. good thing, because i have had the same experience as you. it was waaaay easier to have ds than my first. but i’ll still keep the secret!

Leave a Reply

