An escape

Ugh, I haven’t posted for a while, and it’s not for lack of things to say/record, but I just can’t seem to make the time to sit down and do it. Life is go-go-go, and when I finally have half an hour to sit down at the end of the night, I just want to do nothing but veg. And truthfully, I’ve been struggling of late, with work insanely busy, limited time with friends/family, medical problems for The Husband, everything kid-related a battle — I just don’t have enough left to do much else at the end of the night. My spirit withers day by day as fatigue compounds, and I need to find a way to wrest control of it again.

One thing I’ve been doing this year, though, is making time for reading. I love to read — heck, I made reading into a career. However, because I do it all day, every day at work, my desire to do it in my free time is lacking. And, again, usually once I crawl into bed, all I want to do is just go to sleep. But I decided it’s worth my while to give myself that half an hour every night to escape to other people’s stories, and maybe it would help me deal with the current stresses in my life.

I tend toward nonfiction as a general rule, but sometimes I’ll find myself in the mood for fiction. I get all of my books from the library, either on the Kindle (usually) or on audiobook. (Note: It took a while for me to get used to doing audiobooks since I usually use car time as my thinking time, but now I find myself jittery if I’m nearing the end of an audiobook without another one ready to go.)

Recently I wanted something different and ran across “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” among the library’s Kindle offerings. I’m not sure why, as I knew nothing about the book, but I’ve wanted to read that book for a long time now. Something about the title always drew me in. So, I figured, why not?

It turns out that I really enjoyed the book. It’s not the sort of book you seek if you’re looking for fast-moving plot, but if you’re more in the mood for character development, then it’s up your alley. I finished the book last night, and I was sad to leave Francie Nolan behind, sort of wondering the details of what happens to her after the book is finished.

I’ve never felt the need to highlight passages in previous Kindle books I’ve read, but I ran across several that I liked in “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.” Just for my own purposes, I’m going to copy some of them here this week so I have them all in one place. Maybe it’ll be a little project that will get me back on track with writing more often.

Leave a Reply

