Return to NYC (part 4)

Serenity and I woke up on Sunday morning (March 8), and I can’t speak for her, but I felt pretty beat up, sleep-deprived, and I had multiple blisters on my feet from walking all over NYC with my snow boots. But we had a date that day with a pizza tour bus, and nothing was going to stop us from that.

First things first, we went to the bagel shop for a bagel fix, and I also grabbed some bagels to take home to The Husband (and also The Girls, but mostly him). We got ready, then walked to Lombardi’s Pizza in Little Italy, which was our tour meetup point at 11 a.m. Scott of Scott’s Pizza Tours greeted us, got everyone checked in, and we began the tour, which included four pizzerias throughout the boroughs, not just in Manhattan. Lombardi’s was the first one, then via school bus we ventured over to Best Pizza in Williamsburg (Brooklyn), then up to Queens for Dani’s House of Pizza and John’s Pizzeria.

We were given pizza journals to help us take notes about the pizza and help us discern the differences in styles. One of the things I loved about this tour was the fact that it allowed us to venture out to other areas that we certainly wouldn’t have hit otherwise. Of the ones we tried, I liked Lombardi’s the best, though John’s Pizzeria (not the same as John’s of Bleeker St.) was a pretty close second for me, though it was definitely a different style. By the end, we were stuffed, but that served as both our lunch and dinner, so it worked out well.

Scott the tour guide was Awesome with a Capital A. He eats, sleeps, and breathes pizza, so he knows his subject well. (He says he has a self-imposed 15-slice limit per week.) His passion, enthusiasm, and knowledge of pizza are obvious and infectious. If anyone comes away from this tour unsatisfied, I’d be shocked, and I will recommend it for tourists and locals alike.

The tour ended at exactly 3:30 p.m., so we walked back to the apartment, grabbed Serenity’s car and our suitcases, then she drove me to the airport for my 6:30 p.m. flight home. That ended up being delayed about 45 minutes or an hour as we waited for our plane to arrive, but I’ve had worse solo return trips, so no complaints. I was still just feeling fortunate I’d even made it there in the first place!

And thus concluded our latest trip to NYC, and what a whirlwind weekend it was! Despite the challenging, stressful time getting there, we had an amazing weekend that might end up proving to be our best one yet. How much longer until the next trip…? 🙂

Leave a Reply

