Trash talk

I am not a crafty person. At all. I’m just not good at it. It’s stressful to me. I’m never happy with how anything turns out. I despise the mess it makes. I don’t have the patience for it. In fact, I’ve always joked that half the reason we sent the girls to daycare is so they could learn how to do art projects there, and I wouldn’t have to do it here.

Somehow, over the past year or so, mostly on her own, The Big Sis has gained the desire to turn what I call trash (though it’s really recycling) into artwork. She’s made a haunted house and a huge mailbox, among many other things, with her rescued boxes and other items. This baffles me greatly, as this is the kind of art project I am the most terrible at: turning trash into treasure. But she likes it, and I try to encourage it (while trying to keep her from bringing home OTHER PEOPLE’S TRASH, which she has done before. Multiple times.).

A few weeks ago, The Little Sis had a “homework” assignment for daycare: make a garbage monster as a family project. Thankfully, I knew we had a resident trash art expert among us, so we consulted The Big Sis, who helped The Little Sis plan out how this garbage monster would take shape. The Husband did most of the actual work putting it together late last week, but I cheered him on from the recliner. I think it turned out looking really good, and The Little Sis was on cloud 9 when it was time to take it to daycare, The Husband said.

The finished product:

Leave a Reply

