Moving on to greener pastures

Update on the GB surgery: My recovery went picture-perfect, and I was even back at the gym (for light exercise) 8 days post-surgery. It was definitely an easier process than the ankle surgery and recovery were.

********

At the end of December, I had a former colleague come to me, telling me about a new editor position being added at her company, and she thought I should apply. I hadn’t been seeking a new job, but my work stress is sky-high because of a lack of staffing and having more and more projects put on me. My friend said this position was stable, low stress, and pays decent. Hrm, I thought. I have exactly none of those things right now.

So I updated and sent my resume in mid-January, went out to find some interview clothes and shoes, and then waited to get a call for an interview, as I was pretty qualified for this position and figured my connection with my former coworker would at least land me an interview.

I prepared thoroughly for my first interview, getting interview books from the library, reading interview prep articles and blogs on the internet, and formulating rough answers to the most common interview questions. After all, it had been 15+ years since I had interviewed for a job, so I was definitely out of practice, and I’ve had a grand total of three previous job interviews post-college, so it’s not like I had a ton of experience in the first place. My friend/former colleague also holds an editor position at this company, so she was able to heavily guide me during my prep, letting me in on the internal lingo of the job, telling me in detail about the job so I could know how to target my questions, and even meeting with me the weekend before the interview to go over some final things.

Interview day came, and I was pretty nervous until I got there, and then I was fine. And, truthfully, it was about as perfect an interview as I could have hoped for. I was relaxed, didn’t feel or act nervous, my mouth wasn’t dry, my voice wasn’t shaking. I took control of the interview with the mountain of questions I had for them, and we had a nice, relaxed conversation with my friend and her supervisor for nearly two hours. Personality-wise, it really seemed to be a good match, which I knew was important to them because the department is small (four people before the new hire). Qualifications-wise, I really had most of what they were looking for. (I didn’t have a master’s degree, but I think my 15 years of on-the-job editing experience made up for that fact.)

I was contacted later that week to see when I could come in the next week for a second interview, and though my friend wasn’t allowed to say, I had a feeling I was the only candidate being asked to come in again, and that I was going to be offered the job. That was confirmed further when her boss told me, when I asked what to expect so I’d know how to prepare, that I’d be meeting with his boss, who likes to meet with candidates he’s thinking about hiring, and I’d be meeting with HR to talk about benefits. He also said to think about any questions I’d need to have answered before I’d be willing to accept an offer.

So, I went into this second meeting pretty confident in my position, and thus my nerves were washed away, and I performed well. The chat with his boss was nice and engaging, and I met with the other two people in the department and got along great with them (also had a chance to ask them about the reality of working there, as they’ve both been there 25-30 years). At that point, they said they were going to offer me the job, and I was shipped off to HR to talk some more specifics.

Even though they weren’t able to meet me where I wanted salary-wise, we weren’t too far off, and I’ll still be making 20% more than I am currently, plus I’ll have the opportunity for yearly raises, which have been basically absent over the past 10 years for me. I’ll have a pension available to me after two years, I’ll get to do some travel to some nice places (and get comp time for travel, which will be either paid out or converted to vacation time), I’ll get my own office (a first for me), they have an on-site fitness center, and the office is just 10-12 minutes from my house (current office is 20 minutes). Plus add in the fact that the job is not nearly as high-pressure with intense deadlines like I deal with now and the fact that I gain a whole lot more stability with moving to the medical industry and out of print journalism, and it was nearly a n0-brainer to take.

I accepted the job, and then the truly difficult part was coming…telling my current boss and team.

Leave a Reply

