Making a break

After I accepted the offer for the new editing position, I needed to tell my current supervisor. I’ve been at my current job with him for 3 1/2 years, but I worked under him at my last job too, so we have a history going back 15 years. I have gone down with two previous ships, so to speak, and I am the type of person to see things through, so I knew he would be surprised at news that I was leaving. I had a pretty bad nervous stomach as I waited for him to arrive the morning I was going to tell him. Ideally I would have told him late in the day and then left for the day soon after telling him, but I was so torn up about telling him that I just needed to get it over with. And, as expected, he was pretty shocked and really didn’t know what to say, plus I could see he was quickly realizing the weight of what this meant. I am a hard worker and I am very good at my job, and I have a tremendous about of experience that they won’t find in just anyone pulled off the street, so I was going to be pretty difficult to replace.

I made it through that conversation, but there were still a few other people I needed to make sure I told myself before they heard it from others. One was our copy chief, who just lost another copy editor (that they haven’t replaced) about a month ago. He’s already under a ton of pressure from being overloaded, and I hate disappointing people, so I hated the position I was going to be leaving him in. Thankfully, he was so incredibly kind and gracious at receiving the news, and I expected nothing less than that from him.

Next I needed to call the managing editor and tell him, and he was a more difficult obstacle to get past. He fully realizes what I contribute there, and he didn’t make it easy for me to put in notice. He kept trying to sway me to change my mind, saying he’d go to the CEO with any dollar amount I wanted and try to get it for me if I’d stay. I explained that yes, I was making more money at the new job, but I really just had an opportunity to make a transition to a much more stable industry (medical), and I needed to take control and follow it. He still didn’t give up, and that put me in a position where I felt bad for doing what I needed for me, because I hate disappointing people, but at the same time, I really do appreciate that he was trying to fight to keep me. (Also, regarding that money he wanted to offer me to stay, where was THAT cash when raise times came and went without any pay increase?!)

My current colleagues have very quickly realized just how much I do there — I think they always realized on one level, but not in such specific terms — and how much I need to explain to them before I leave, so last week was a pretty draining one as I work through this transition to make sure they are left in decent shape.

I put in my official written notice the next day, and my supervisor wrote a very nice note back to me about how they’re going to miss me, and thanking me for my excellent performance over the years, and he concluded the email by saying, “You are irreplaceable.” To be 100% honest, I feel the same, but it meant so much to have that acknowledged by him.

My last day of work will be March 1, but my colleagues are doing a going-away lunch for me this coming Friday since a couple of them will be traveling on my last day. I’ll have a few days off before I start my new position on March 7.

A new path awaits.

Leave a Reply

