Hidden laughter

I think The Little Sis is long past the point of needing to take a nap at preschool, but she gets one anyway. Which would be fine except for the fact that she then has a very hard time going to sleep at night, sometimes not asleep until after I go to bed (anywhere from 10 to 11 p.m.). Naturally, she’s then hard to wake up in the morning, and she then takes a nap at preschool because she’s sleep-deficient, and we get to do the whole cycle repeatedly.

Usually when she’s having trouble going to sleep at night, she’ll play with her baby dolls in her room. We can hear her talking when she does this, and it would be cute if not for the fact that it happens at 10 p.m. Many times she’ll invent numerous excuses for coming out of her room. Most are the typical bed-stalling tactics: “I needed another hug.” “There’s a monster under my bed.” “I’m thirsty.” Other times she gets more creative: “What happens if lava fills my room?”

Sometimes she’ll sneak over to The Big Sis’s room and go to sleep with her already-zonked-out sissy (typically after everyone in the house is already asleep). I am completely fine with this, as long as she goes in there quietly and doesn’t wake up The Big Sis in the process. Usually she’s pretty good about that.

However, a couple nights ago, she was sneaky and went over to The Big Sis’s room while I was still awake, and she wasn’t being quiet once in the room. Odd sounds kept coming from the room, clearly denoting a child that was not even attempting to go to sleep.

I turned the doorknob. I heard a little gasp. The Little Sis was standing in front of The Big Sis’s desk. INSTANTLY, while standing there, she closed her eyes. Pretending she was asleep.

You know…standing up.

It took everything in me not to bust out laughing on the spot.

Of course, then I thought: “Wow, how stupid does she think I am, that I would believe she was sleeping while standing up?”

I choose not to find out the answer to that question, though.

In a stern voice, I reminded her that she needed to lie down and go to sleep immediately. And then I went into the living room so I could release the laughter I’d kept inside.

Parenting sure is full of those moments, when you want to laugh about something your kid did or said, but you have to make sure you don’t react in such a way that could be construed by them as permission for the behavior.

It does make me wonder, though, just how many times I got in trouble as a kid, but my parents were secretly amused or even a little proud or impressed….

Leave a Reply

